Hard fought win for Junior C's

posted 24 Oct 2014, 14:52 by Garret Byrne
Junior C Shield Semi-final
Friday 24th Oct 2014 in Ardrahan.


This game produced a cracking final quarter of hurling with credit to both sets of players in wet conditions.
Kinvara started brillantly, with 2 green flags raised within the opening 3 minutes. Shane Sullivan and Deco Keane were the scorers. We actually led 2-1 to 0-0 after 5 minutes, but after that it was Annaghdown who got on top. They ended up rattling off several white flags to take the the lead at the interval by 0-9 to 2-2. They also had several wides in that period that were to prove costly. 
Kinvara now had advantage of the slight breeze in the second half, and slowly edged our way back into this game, shortly equalising. Kinvara then put together a string of points to lead by three, but credit to Annaghdown and they replied and again took a lead with 10 mins remaining. Then the Tommy K show started. His first goal was superbly taken as his snuck inside and shot from an acute angle. He followed that with another acute angled point. But Annaghdown came back again. They scored a goal and then a point to level it with 5 mins left. But then Tommy K came to the rescue again. This time he took full advantage of a defensive error and pulled the ball to the back of the net. The closing few minutes was very nervy stuff, and there was much delight when referee Ronan Stankard blew the final whistle.
This was a very spirited Kinvara performance and every player worked their socks off. They had to as this was a very good Annaghdown side. 
Our man of the match was corner back Darren Geaney. He has come back after a serious injury - in fact that injury retired him during the year! But he led the way from the corner, covering every blade of grass, encouraged his teammates, and cleared a mountain of ball. 
Overall it was the immense workrate that won the day. Well done lads!
Kinvara team:
Conor Quinn, Darren GeaneyPadraic MoylanAiden Fahy, Rory Quinn, John Kavanagh, John Donoghue, Michael O ConnorMickey KavanaghShane O Sullivan, Francis Comyn, Frankie QuinnDeclan Keane, Martin O'Connell, Oisin Fahy. Subs on: Dylan O HanrahanThomas Kavanagh.