News...LATEST!!!‎ > ‎

Calendar for U14 Hurling

posted 5 Feb 2013, 13:56 by Garret Byrne
This year there is a new structure to the Coiste Iomana na nOg hurling competitions.
Please note the following.......

U14B CHAMPIONSHIP
U14B - Abbeyknockmoy, Kiltormer, Kinvara, Liam Mellows, Salthill-Knocknacarra, Oranmore-Maree, Mullagh and Tommie Larkins.

Dates are as follows:
Sat 9th March - Group - v Tommie Larkins in Kinvara
Sat 16th March - Group v tbc
Sat 23rd March - Group v tbc
Mon 15th April - Group v tbc
Mon 22nd April - Group v tbc
Mon 29th April - Group v tbc
Mon 6th May - Group v tbc
Mon 13th May - Knockout stages
Sat 18th May - Knockout stages
Mon 20th May - Knockout stages
Sat 25th May - Knockout stages

U14 HURLING FEILE
This has also been revamped with the county competitions now been staged over a weekend, on a similar basis as the national Feile (without the visiting clubs!).
Due to mis-matches, they have decided that those clubs competing in U14 Grades A and A1 only will compete in the Toddie Byrne Cup, while the others in U14 B, B1 and C will play for the Toddie Byrne Shield. Therefore we play in the Shield.
The weekend of this is that of Saturday 6th April and Sunday 7th April.
Sat 6th April- Feile Toddie Byrne Shield

U14 hurling Manager Brian Connolly 087-683 6916.


(HOW THE NEW CHAMPIONSHIP STRUCTURES WORK)
At U14 level we are competing in Grade B (the third grade of five......A, A1, B, B1, and C).

Here how it works…
- So there will be 5 different championship grades, and each of these will have a shield competition.
- therefore of the starting say 44 teams….10 will lift a cup……20 will reach a final…….40 will reach semi-finals.
- for example, take the U14 B. 
* This has just one group of 8 teams
* each team plays each other (therefore 7 group matches each)
* in the final group standings, the top 4 sides go into the Championship semi-finals, the bottom 4 sides head for the Shield semi-finals. (each side now has minimum of 8 matches, and each side will play in a semi-final).
* winners of semi's play in U14 B Championship Final or U14 B Shield Final.
Comments